Nigerian wrestlers depart Yenagoa ahead of African Games

The Wrestling Federation contingents have departed Yenagoa where the team camped ahead of the African Games in Accra, Ghana.

The 20-man delegation led by the President Nigeria Wrestling Federation, Dr. Daniel Igali left Yenagoa on Tuesday for Port-Harcourt airport en-route Abuja before leaving the country for Ghana on Wednesday.

Speaking on the hopes of the Wrestling Federation ahead of the Games, the President Nigeria Wrestling Federation, Dr. Daniel Igali said the expectation is for the athletes to put up a good performance in the Games.

“This is African Games and as you know our athletes have been in training camp here in Yenagoa and I think the expectation we have from the athletes is for everyone to give their best efforts.”

“We believe with the work we’ve done in the past few weeks with 100% performance would bring good fruits to Nigeria.”

The captain of the Nigeria Wrestling team, Olympic silver medalist Blessing Oborodudu stated of her desire to make Nigeria proud with her performance.

“Going for the African Games, my expectation is to perform my 100% best and by the special grace of God I will defend my title which is the gold medal.”

An African Games debutant, Ashton Mutuwa 125kg expressed confidence of giving a good account of himself despite making his first appearance at the African Games.

“I’m going there with high expectation and I’m going to Wrestle hard, we’ve been training hard and I’m looking forward to the African Games; yea I would really like to get gold.”

The 13th African Games begin march 8th and wrestling event is scheduled for 9,10 and 11th March, 2024 in Accra, Ghana.

The full list of Nigeria Wrestling Federation delegation to the African Games


1. Genesis Miesinnei Mercy (50kg)

2. Ogunsanya Christinah Tolulope (53kg)

3. Adekuoroye Odunayo Folasade (57kg)

4. Kolawole Esther Omolayo (62kg)

5. Oborodudu Blessing (68kg)

6. Rueben Hannah Amuchechi (76kg)

Men Freestyle :

7. Enozunomi Simon (57kg)

8. Izolo Stephen Simon (65kg)

9. Braverman Oyeinkeperemo (74kg)

10. Onovwiomogbohwo Harrison (86kg)

11. Mutuwa Ashton Adeyemi- Amin (125kg)

Greco-Roman :

12. Nworie Emmanuel Chinonso (77kg)

13. Ulabo Solomon (87kg)

14. Okuro Augustine (130kg)

Officials :

1. Akuh Purity
2. Burutu Happiness
3. Victor Kodei
4. Godswill Teibril

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker