South West to embark on Athletics revival

The South West Athletics Conference rose from its inaugural meeting in Abeokuta, the Ogun State Capital with far reaching decisions.
According to the Communique signed by Chairman of the Conference working Committee, Prof. Tunde Makanjuola and Dr. (Mrs) Oluyomi Oluwasanmi, the conference ended with the following resolutions.
To form a working unit, the South West Athletics Group that would be run by a board consisting of all the Chairmen of the state Athletics Association with each taking annual turns as Chairman of the board.
Establish and maintain a good working relationship with the media, recognizing it as an integral part of the South West Nigeria Athletics Community, establish South West Sports Development Fund. Rebrand
School Sports programmes and events vis-a-vis attractive content development, visibility/mileage for sponsors and develop a uniform and robust School Sports calendar and end unhealthy rivalry between the Ministry of of Education and Sports Commissions/Councils, put mechanism in place to ensure seamless talents transfer, provide adequate incentives and motivational packages for athletes, coaches and officials to promote better performances.

The conference also resolved to put in place standardized and constant training programmes for coaches/technical officials, establish proper talent transfer mechanism, establish Government Scholarships and Adopt-a-talent programme to foster early stage development, talent incubation and opportunities for successful and rewarding professional Sports Career, ensure development of Sports Coaching Techniques towards the production of 15 podium athletes at the Olympics in 4 years time, ensure that School based Sports programmes should be handled by qualified, experienced and unbiased Technical officials and agreed to hold regular meetings to chart a way going forward.

Meanwhile SWAC Secretary General, Enefiok Udobong has thanked the Ogun State Athletics Association for hosting the maiden conference and extended the body’s appreciation to all those who contributed to the success of the conference.
They include, Chief Bukola Olapade. Prof. Tunde Makanjuola, Prof. Seun Omotayo, Dr. Kweku Tandor, Chief Segun Odegbami, Falilat Ogunkoya, madam Emilia Edet, Mr. Traveh , Director of Sports, Lagos state Sports Commission, Mr. Letan Adegbite, Chairman Ogun State Athletics Association Mrs. Emen Edem Ikhaobomeh, gold medallist, Unilag 1998 Nigeria University Games, Mr. Seyi Johnson, President Wheelchair Basketball Federation of Nigeria and Mr. Femi Abioye among others,

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker