Sports Ministry, Yucateco to stage maiden boxing award

The Ministry of Sports in collaboration with Yucateco Boxing promotions will hold the first of its kind boxing award in Lagos.
The event which is in line with the Sports Minister’s agenda on athletes recognition and appreciation is a brainchild of Yucateco Boxing Promotions organizers of the first ever boxing league in Nigeria.

According to the CEO of Yucateco Boxing Promotions Omonlei Yakubu Imadu, the award is designed to celebrate as well as recognize Nigeria’s boxing heroes.
These include boxers, referees, judges and others who have contributed to the growth of boxing in Nigeria over the years.
In Imadu’s words: ” in line with the Sports Minister’s vision on athletes recognition, we have decided to take the lead in boxing by honoring those who have brought glory to our nation through the sports, this edition of the award is focused on celebrating some of those I’ll like to describe as legends of boxing in Nigeria and you will agree with me that our list of awardees in this regard truly merit such recognition at this time”.

” our attention is also on the younger generation of boxers, subsequently we hope to incorporate various categories of awards where they can be duly recognized as well”

The awardees for this year’s event includes; the President Nigeria Boxing Federation Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah (Rtd), late Hogan Bassy, the first Nigerian to win a world title, former national middleweight champion Isaac Ikhouria, Commonwealth Games gold medalists Sabo Mohammed and current Nigeria National boxing coach Anthony Konyegwachie.

Others are 2011 All African Games bronze medalist Lawal Lukmon Olaiwola, Muyili Ojo, Nigerian boxing Umpire with the most appearances at international games, women boxing Pioneer Edith Agu Ogoke, former National boxing coach Joseph Mensah, Ogun state boxing pioneer Ajani Aremu, boxing umpire Abdullahi Masha, coach Samson Aransiola, and one of Nigeria’s most decorated boxing umpire Adesanya Olusegun Ayodele.
The Maiden Yucateco Boxing Lifetime Achievements Merit Awards Ceremony is slated for Friday 19th April, at Jivinik Hall, 21 Isaac John Street, Ikeja GRA Lagos. The event starts by 6pm.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker